Legacy of Local Music

x_orchestra2The San Marcos Youth Orchestra (SMYO) concluded its eighth season with its 8th Annual End of the Year Concert and Awards Ceremony at the San Marcos Community Center. The evening began with opening speeches by Benny Ricardo and SMYO Co-Presidents Hurlink and Huryoung Vongsachang, and awards for each orchestra were handed out in between sections. Performances by the teachers’ assistants and the teachers were highlights of the night. “As we reflect on the eighth SMYO school year, a feeling of gratitude overwhelms us,” shared the co-presidents. “We have overcome many challenges while learning a lot and sharing our knowledge with students and parents.”

The Primary Orchestra, including Alondra Oceguera, Edgar Medina, Jennifer Vuong, Leonardo Villagomez, Quinn Dooley, Ryan Dominguez, and Solice Nerey, performed Dreidel, Skating in the Moonlight, Serenata, and Ode to Joy. The Beginning Orchestra performed Surprise Symphony, She’ll Be Coming ‘Round the Mountain, Ragtime Melody, and March Militaire. The Beginning Orchestra includes Daniella Maldonado, Ethan Morelos, Gwendolyn Hammel, Julia Hammel, Justina Nguyen, Megan Phung, Melissa Medina, Mia Carroll, Nova Mai, Sheyla Rosas, Ruby Bautista, Vanessa Medina, and Yarisa Huerta.

Intermediate Orchestra members Danielle Chang, Ezra Hernandez, Ian Gritt, Justin Phung, Kiara Soto, Luis Ramos, Natalie Martinez, Natasha Adams, and Taylor Quach performed Minuet No. 1, Rigadoon, German Dance, and Burleske. The Advanced Orchestra performed Allegro, Spring, and Last Minute Latin, showcasing the talents of Ahren Soriano, Alexa Jennings, Alyssa Legaspi, Andre Ricardo, Angel Mai, Hannah Rosas, Irene Chang, Jacqueline Medina, Janey Keske, Jonathan Thio, Leila Nerey, and Steffanie Yeh.

The next season begins on Sept. 4, and the orchestra is currently recruiting new students from the fourth grade and up – learn more by contacting smyo.ca@gmail.com.